About Our Wine

Lion & Dove wines come from grapes cultivated and grown in the Central Valley — Chile’s agricultural heartland — including the renowned Curicó sub-region, 115 miles south of Santiago. In addition to being Chile’s most productive wine region, the Central Valley is known for its range of distinct microclimates and varied terrain and soil types. These varying regional characteristics produce unique and expressive wines that are both consistent and approachable — the way wine should be.

DMV teamed up with the family-run Korta Winery and Vineyards to produce Lion & Dove wines. Founded over twenty years ago by the Korta-Bucarey family of Basque origin, Korta Winery and Vineyards is currently one of the most important wineries in the Maule Region of Chile, one of the oldest wine regions in the country and famous for its great agricultural development, its farming traditions, and the exceptional quality of its climate and soil. The red grapes are grown in the Valley of Sagrada Familia, surrounded by hills, near the ocean and enjoying a microclimate tempered by coastal winds. The white grapes are grown at the foothills of The Andes mountains, in the Zapallar area of the Curicó Valley, where colder climatic conditions are common. It’s this remarkable climate — characterized by distinct rainy and dry seasons — that yields red wines of intense color and flavor with a delicate aroma and subtle earthiness on the palate, and white wines that express lavish aromas of flowers and fruits.

Lion & Dove wines are kosher for Passover and flash-processed mevushal. All Lion & Dove wines are also certified vegan and gluten-free.

Kosher for Passover, Mevushal & Gluten-Free

The regulations for a wine to be certified kosher include Sabbath-observing Jewish persons handling and processing the wine, barrels and tanks being designated kosher, and a rabbi or Kashrut-trained supervisor observing the process. Wine that is described as “kosher for Passover” must have been kept free from contact with chametz, examples being grain, bread and dough, meaning that all kosher for Passover wines are also gluten-free. A mevushal wine is one that has been flash-processed and remains kosher for Passover no matter the type of handling they receive, so as to allow the wine to be handled by non-Jewish or non-observant waiters.

Where To Buy

Certified Vegan

In order for a product to be designated certified vegan, it must not contain meat, fish, fowl, animal by-products, eggs or egg products, milk or milk products, honey or honey bee products, insects or products from insects such as silk or dyes, or sugar-filtered with bone char.

The reason not all wines are vegan (or even vegetarian-friendly) has to do with how the wine is clarified during the fining process. Vegan wineries will use more natural filtration processes, vegan-friendly fining agents, or choose not to fine and/or filter their wine.

Where To Buy
Find Our Wine